Nominations for the RASNZ Murray Geddes Memorial Prize are invited. This prize is awarded annually by RASNZ to a New Zealand resident who has made a contribution to astronomy in New Zealand. Nominations need to be sent to the RASNZ Secretary (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) no later than 20 February 2017. The prize is normally awarded at the society’s conference dinner. See the Murray Geddes Memorial Prize page for further details of the prize and rules.

Toward the end of November last year DAS member Ron Paine captured the ISS crossing the Sun.

RASNZ's president John Drummond briefly recaps last year, looks forawrd to the new year and extends seasons' greetings.

The 2017 RASNZ conference will be held in Dunedin on 12 to 14 May.

In the first of a series of occasional blogs Dr Nicholas Rattenbury talks about Auckland University and New Zealand's ventures into space exploration.

The RASNZ Lecture Trust Inc.

Watch this space for the announcement of the Beatrice Hill Tinsley Lecturer for 2017.