Murray Geddes Memorial Prize

The Murray Geddes Memorial Prize is awarded by the Royal Astronomical Society of New Zealand to a person or persons for contributions to astronomy in New Zealand. The award is usually made annually. The recipient of the prize must be a New Zealand resident but need not be a member of the Royal Astronomical Society of New Zealand. Normally a person may only receive the award once.

RASNZ By-laws governing the Murray Geddes Memorial Prize

  1. The Murray Geddes Memorial Prize shall be awarded to a person or persons at intervals of not more than five years, nor less than one year, for contributions to astronomy in New Zealand.
  2. The recipient of the prize shall be a resident of New Zealand and need not be a member of the Society.
  3. Only in exceptional circumstances shall the award be made to the same person more than once.
  4. Council may annually, at such time as it may decide, invite nominations for the prize from whatever sources it deems appropriate. Nominations shall remain valid for three years from the date of nomination. Additional information in support of a nomination may be accepted during the three years.
  5. Council shall have the sole decision in making the award and its decision shall be made not less than two months before the date of the Annual General Meeting.
  6. The prize shall consist of a medallion which shall be presented with a certificate suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and the signature of the President or Vice President. The prize and certificate shall be presented, whenever possible, at the Annual General Meeting or Conference.
  7. The name of each new recipient shall be published in the Journal of the Society.

Past Murray Geddes Memorial Prize recipients

1945, Mr A F Jones

1946, Mr D L Snelling

1947, Mr R D Adams

1948, Mr G G Couling

1949, Mr D C Berry and Mr J Stitchbury

1950, Mr F M Bateson

1951, Miss J Grey and Mr D A Philpott

1952, Mr G T Railton

1953, Mr M Hedges

1954, Mr W D Anderson

1955, Mr R F Joyce

1956, Mr R B Orton

1957, Mr L R H Beaumont

1958, Mr J G Gow

1959, Mr A J Doig and Mr T J Richards

1960, Mr K D Adams

1961, Mr W H Ward

1962, Mr A C Gilmore

1963, Mr E L Morley

1964, Dr C D Ellyett

1965, Mr C B Michie

1966, Mr P A Read

1967, Mr A J Thomas

1968, Mr C P Fisk

1969, Mr C H Rowe

1970, Dr P J Edwards

1971, Mr B F Marino and Mr W S G Walker

1972, Mr W J H Fisher

1973, Mr M Clark and Mr G R Nankivell

1974, Mr G S Smith

1975, Mr G Hall-Jones

1976, Mr L A C Warner

1977, Mr & Mrs W S Thrush

1978, no award

1979, Mr J E Morgan and Mr J H Duthie

1980, Mr F P Andrews

1981, Mr W H Allen

1982, Ms P M Kilmartin

1983, Mr G L Blow

1984, Mr R R D Austin

1985, Dr J B Hearnshaw

1986, Mr D J MacLennan

1987, Mr G S Smith

1988, Mr J D Whelan

1989, Mr Jack Dunlop (Napier) and Mr G Loftus

1990, Mr R N Campbell

1991, Mr H Williams

1992, Mr R McIntosh

1993, Mr R Sutherland

1994, Mr R Evans

1995, Mr A Dodson

1996, Mr G Hudson

1997, Professor W J Baggaley

1998, no award

1999, Mr N Rumsey

2000, Mrs P A and Mr B R Loader

2001, Mr D Goodman

2002, Ms Marilyn Head

2003, Mr M Bos

2004/5, Dr Albert and Mrs Carolyn Jones

2006, Ms Jennie McCormick

2007, Mr R Rea

2008, No award

2009, Mr R Hall

2010, Mr S Butler

2011, Mr M Collins

2012, Mr. Stuart Parker

2013, Dr. Grant Christie

2014, Mr. Chris Monigatti

2015, Mr Graeme Kershaw

2016, Mr Dave Cochrane

2018, No award

2019, Mr Antony Gomez

2020, No award (Covid)

2021, Mr Damien McNamara

2023, Dr. Tom Love